Palamidi is a fortress to the east of the town of Nafplio in the Peloponnese region of southern Greece. Nestled on the crest of a 216-metre high hill, the fortress was built by the Venetians during their second occupation of the area (1686–1715).
The fortress was a very large and ambitious project, but was finished within a relatively short period from 1711 until 1714. It is a typical baroque fortress based on the plans of Venetian engineer Antonio Giancix (Antun Jančić) and built by French military engineer Pierre de la Salle. In 1715 it was captured by the Ottomans and remained under their control until 1822, when it was captured by the Greeks.
Nowadays tourists enjoy the great view from the top across the Argolic Gulf and the Argolic plains. But earlier inhabitants were mainly there for another reason. The fortress was the perfect place to spot hostile invaders from far away.